A Series of Races

This year I ran in a series of four races called the Resolution Series.  There were four races, each one longer than the last — 5, 10, 15, and 20, either kilometers or miles, whichever you choose.  I ran the Resolution Series last year as well, in kilometers (so a 5k, 10k, 15k, and 20k), and I wanted to see if I could run each race faster than I did last year, so I chose to run kilometers again this year.

raceme

Here I am before the 5k  on Jan. 1st.

The first one was on January 1st, and I did better this year than last year!  This year I ran the 5k in 27:06, so at an 8:40 min/mile pace.  Last year I ran the 5k in 28:39, so at a 9:14 pace.

The second race, a 10k, took place later in January, and this year I ran the 10k in 55:55, at a 9:00 pace.  Last year I ran it in 58:18, at a 9:23 pace.

The third race, the 15k, took place in February.  This year I ran the 15k in 126:12, a 9:15 pace.  Last year I ran it in 1:36:19, a 10:21 min/mile pace.

I really did not think I was going to do very well in the fourth race, a 20k.  I felt like skipping it! I hadn’t been getting very long runs in, and I just didn’t feel ready.  I felt super happy when I did way better than I expected!  The fourth race took place on the 3rd weekend of March.  The night before the race I had looked up how fast I ran it last year, and I knew I wanted to come in before 2:15:54, which was a 10:57 min/mi pace.  When I came around the corner, so very tired and happy that it was almost over, and saw the clock, I was thrilled at the time — I ended up finishing it in 158:54, a 9:34 pace!

I ended up getting second place for the series of races for women in my age group (40-49), and I got second place for women in my age group for the 20k!  Yay!!

marchrace

Here I am before the 5k  on Jan. 1st.

marchrace2

Here I am before the 5k  on Jan. 1st.

This series of races is so great because it encourages me to go longer and longer distances.  It’s such a super way to start off the year!  Maybe next year I’ll try to to run the miles instead of the kilometers!  🙂

Last year after these races were over, I kept up the trend and ran at least once race a month. I’d like to do that again this year, and my race for April will be next weekend, on April 17th.  I’m going to be in an indoor mini-triathlon.  Should be fun!

About flowermama

I'm a SAHM & have been married for 25 years. DH and I have 4 kiddos, age 20 down to age 12, and we are unschooling-ish, AP parents who strive to use Grace-Based Discipline. I have been vegan for 15 years for ethical, ecological, & health reasons.
This entry was posted in Exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

