Yummy Blueberry Smoothie

Trying to eat more healthily, I’ve been making more smoothies lately. My goal is to have a smoothie once a day. I still haven’t quite got into the habit yet of having one every day, but I’m working towards it. The No-Meat Athlete recommends having a smoothie and a salad every day. He says in his post The Perfect Smoothie Formula:

The smoothie and salad act as “anchors” that keep you on track, to remind you just how great it feels to put real, fresh fruits and vegetables in your body.  After you start the day with a smoothie, McDonald’s for lunch doesn’t seem so good anymore.  And when it’s time to start thinking about dinner, the salad does the same.

In this way, those two healthy meals become three or four—which doesn’t leave much time for junk.

I haven’t eaten at McDonald’s in I don’t know how long. It’s been probably at least 10 years, so I’m fine with not eating there.  I do, however, still need to work on eating more healthy foods, and the idea of a having a smoothie and a salad everyday helps me keep more focused and is making it more do-able.

So I’m always on the looked for smoothie recipes, and feeling inspired by this recipe for a blackberry smoothie, though not having any blackberries (I’ll have tons of those later in the year!) but having blueberries in my freezer, I made this yummy, wonderfully cold, blueberry smoothie this morning.  [I apologize for the Styrofoam cup.  I usually avoid Styrofoam, but bought some cups the other day in a moment of weakness because they were so cheap.]

P1740226

To make the smoothie I put two bananas and almost two cups of frozen blueberries in my blender and then poured rice milk into the blender up to the top line and blended it until smooth. I also ended up adding juice from half a lemon that I had leftover from yesterday because blueberries and lemon are so good together, and so good for you!  And I and my kiddos really enjoyed it! I’ll definitely be making this smoothie again soon.

About flowermama

I'm a SAHM & have been married for 25 years. DH and I have 4 kiddos, age 20 down to age 12, and we are unschooling-ish, AP parents who strive to use Grace-Based Discipline. I have been vegan for 15 years for ethical, ecological, & health reasons.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yummy Blueberry Smoothie

  1. looks absolutely delicious! will need to try this out! please visit my blog ❤ https://enjoybypaula.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

