Updates: New T-Shirt and Race Results

Well, last month I wanted to write something in my blog every day, and, sadly, it’s been about a month since I last wrote in my blog.  I sure didn’t keep up with it!  I think I’ll try again this month.  Okay, so I’m going to try and write a blog post with at least 300 words.

In my last blog post I wrote a list of some things that I would like to receive for my birthday.  One thing on the list that I got from my mom was the purple “No-Meat Athlete” t-shirt!  I was so happy to be able to wear it in a race later that week.   I wore it in a half-marathon — it was my first time to run a half-marathon.  I felt so good afterwards, and I even came in 3rd place for women ages 45-49!!  As I crossed the finish line, the announcer must have noticed my t-shirt and when he read aloud my number and time he said I was “representing vegetarians everywhere”!  It made made me smile!

Finishing the Half-Marathon!

(Source: JBLM MWR)

This past Saturday I was in a 5k.  I decided not to wear that t-shirt, but I did wear another purple t-shirt I have (love purple!). It was a small race, but I came in 1st place for women ages 40-49!  I was pretty excited.

It was near a playground, and my son and I were on the swings while they called out the winners.   They announced the second place winner first, and when the announcer didn’t call out my name, I commented to my son, “Oh, I guess I didn’t get anything.”  I was sure if I were to have placed I would have gotten second place or nothing.  And then, surprisingly, the announcer called out my name for first place!   So fun!

I don’t have any more races this month, but I have three coming up in July!  One is a four-mile run, one is a sprint triathlon, and one is a 5k color run I’m going to do with my kiddos.  I’ve passed 300 words now.  See you tomorrow!

About flowermama

I'm a SAHM & have been married for 25 years. DH and I have 4 kiddos, age 20 down to age 12, and we are unschooling-ish, AP parents who strive to use Grace-Based Discipline. I have been vegan for 15 years for ethical, ecological, & health reasons.
This entry was posted in Me and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

