Birthday List

This will be a self-centered post!  Woohoo!    I have a birthday coming up and chances are I won’t get any of these things, and that’s okay, but I thought that I would make up a birthday list of things I’d like to have.  This kinda fits with the idea of the importance of setting goals:  with this list I’ll have a reminder of things I’d perhaps like to save for and eventually own some day!  It will also be interesting to look back when I’m older and see what types of things I used to want.

1.  T-Shirts:  The first thing I’d like is a new t-shirt. I’d really like this No-Meat Athlete T-Shirt, in size small.  It has a cute running carrot on it.  For some reason it seems like a lot of people think of carrots when they think of food that vegans eat, so I get a big kick out of the cute running carrot.   I’ve wanted one of these shirts for a really long time, and I chose this one because I love purple.

I admit I’m a bit nervous to advertise myself as a vegan, for a several reasons. I’m not the activist-type of vegan, and I’m not perfect at being vegan (see my article that I wrote on Tuesday).  The idea wearing a “No-Meat Athlete” t-shirt, though, seems to cover those concerns well, though.  This t-shirt, which is a pretty good price, $9.95, might be okay.  It says No Animals Were Harmed in the Feeding of this Body.  I like the charcoal gray one in size small.

Also, I admit that I’m afraid I’m not good enough to advertise myself as a vegan athlete / runner.  I remember one time I wore a vegetarian t-shirt while running at the Y, and I didn’t make sure I drank enough water, and when I felt rather lousy afterwards, I thought to myself, “Oh, great, people might be able to tell that I don’t feel so good and they might assume it’s because I’m vegetarian!”  I’ve noticed it seems people illogically often like to blame bad things on someone being vegetarian / vegan.

A neat t-shirt that would be fun to wear is this berry-colored running t-shirt in size small that says “Let The Course Be With You” on it.  Isn’t that clever?  Or this neon pink t-shirt that says “All You Need is Love and Running.”  Isn’t that sweet?

2.  Books: The second thing I’d like is another Tolkien book.  I’ve had my eye on this one for awhile–The Inklings: C. S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien and Their Friends by Humphrey Carpenter.  I love C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien, and I collect books about Tolkien (thanks to my dad for starting my collection!), and I’d really like to read that book.  There’s another book by that same author that looks good called J.R.R. Tolkien: A Biography.  The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien would be another great book to own, as would The Tolkien Reader.

3.  Swim Goggles: I’d like to have another pair of these awesome goggles: Aqua Sphere Kayenne Lady Swim Goggles.  I had a pair, but somehow I lost them.  I guess I left them at the Y one day.  I asked them if they had any in the lost and found but they didn’t.   I wore them during the sprint triathlon I was in last year, and they worked great, and if not for my birthday, I hope I can get another pair before the triathlon this year.  They were reliable, great at keeping the water out, and I didn’t really have to worry about them fogging up like I do with the Speedo goggles I’ve been using.

If I could choose any goggles, and money didn’t matter, you know what type if would love to try? These lovely purple goggles: Sable WaterOptics RS 101 Mirrored Goggles. I think they are gorgeous!

4.  Running Shoes:  I really think these Merrell Women’s Pace Glove 2 Trail Running Shoes are pretty, and, yes, they are purple!  Here are another pair of purple shoes that look nice: New Balance Women’s W890v4 Neutral Light Running Shoe.

Okay, I’ve reached and surpassed my daily goal of 300 words, and I’m tired of writing, so I’m going to stop now, but at least that’s a good start on my birthday list.  😉

About flowermama

I'm a SAHM & have been married for 25 years. DH and I have 4 kiddos, age 20 down to age 12, and we are unschooling-ish, AP parents who strive to use Grace-Based Discipline. I have been vegan for 15 years for ethical, ecological, & health reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

