Small Things

I’ve set a goal of writing at least 300 words a day in my blog for the rest of this month.  I’m going to try not to worry if it’s not very good.  I figure the practice of writing is good for me, so here goes!  

I’ve found that making goals for myself really helps me get things done, so I made a goal recently that I would do some yardwork every day.  I’ve kept with my goal for the most part, though I’ve missed a couple times.

Partly sunny and windy, it felt really good to be outside working in our yard today.  I decided to work on cutting back some of our blackberry bushes, especially the long stems  reaching up to the trees above them and blocking off light to the plants beneath.  I also worked on a space that used to have pretty flowers growing in it, but now the berry bushes have taken over.

I only partly finished both of those places.  It took quite a while for the blackberry stems to grow as much as they have, and it’s going to take some time to complete the tasks.  It’s crazy to think about how they start out so small you can’t even see them, and then they grow bigger and bigger, and boom, you have a whole area full of sticker bushes.

Someone recently mentioned to me the idea that when we put off doing small tasks, they can become big, overwhelming tasks, and that’s so true.  Similarly, with bad habits, or even good habits, we start with something small, and when we do that thing over and over it can grow into something hugely bad, or amazingly good!

So by going outside and tackling even a small portion of yardwork every day I’m attempting to create something good.   Our yard, really big and wild, with lots of sticker bushes, is truly overwhelming, but small steps grow into bigger things, and I’m going to keep my focus on my goal, and day after day, I want to work towards creating beauty for my family.

About flowermama

I'm a SAHM & have been married for 25 years. DH and I have 4 kiddos, age 20 down to age 12, and we are unschooling-ish, AP parents who strive to use Grace-Based Discipline. I have been vegan for 15 years for ethical, ecological, & health reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

