God’s Plan is Good

I really struggle at times with anxiety, and I get overwhelmed way too easily.  I don’t respect myself like I should or think very highly of myself.  Sometimes I ask God “Why did you make me? Everyone would be better without me.”  I know that thinking those type of things are irrational and not true.  I know how God sees me, that I am precious to Him, and that He has good plans for me and wants the best for me.  I know of His promises, and I know of His goodness.  I’ve seen It’s a Wonderful Life many times (I love that movie!) and I know the things we do, even seemingly small things, can make a huge difference for so many people.  I don’t know why I struggle like I do.  I am getting better; I am feeling these negative things less and less, but I hate it that I still struggle.  At least I’m not giving up, though, right? And I guess we all have our struggles, and this is definitely one of mine.

God did something extra special the other day that really encouraged me.  He’s always doing things to show me that He loves me and to encourage me.  Thank you, God!  What happened was someone sent me an email telling me that Chuck Norris linked to my website Gentle Christian Mothers at the end of his C-Force health and fitness column this week in his article entitled You Are Fearfully and Wonderfully Made.   Doesn’t that sound like a dream that he would link to my website, like it couldn’t be real?  I mean CHUCK NORRIS?!  Wow!  It lifted my spirits so much and put a great grin on my face! And my goodness, what a perfect message for me to read!  All babies are indeed a blessing from God!  Our children are fearfully and wonderfully made, so true, and that also means that we ourselves are as well.   I’m so thankful to the person who wrote me and so thankful to Chuck Norris.

There are so many other things that God has done to bless me.  Our van broke down, and it’s been quite discouraging.   Our church has been praying for us, and I received an uplifting email from a dear lady at church, and another one called me at home offering such beautiful empathy and concern and care and offered to take me shopping.  Also, a friend gave us a ride to homeschool co-op and has offered to do so again this week if we need it.  Others have been praying for us, too, and I’m trying to remember that all things work together for the good of those who love God.  I know He has a plan!  Our pastor had a great sermon this week about God’s Providence.  Isn’t it funny when a sermon touches your heart so much that it seems to as if it were written just for you, as if God had a special message that He wanted you to hear?  And of course He does!  I know our family was on God’s heart when our pastor wrote that message.  ♥

And my parents are such a blessing to our family.  I love them both so much.  My mom took me grocery shopping on Sunday so that I could stock up, and she’s so full of faith and love.  I truly look up to her.

There are so many things to be thankful for.  Maybe I should make it a regular thing to write out what I’m thankful for.   Thank you God for all the good things in my life, and for all the things that seem bad to me at the moment, because I know you have a plan and are working through it all and will always bring good even out of things that others mean for evil.

So I will keep plugging along and trusting that God is good and that He knows what He’s doing, that He even knew what He was doing when He made me. . .   and you can trust that He knew what He was doing when He made YOU!  Toward the end of Mr. Norris’ article he wrote,

In the end, we ought to love and cherish the babies and children in our lives (in and out of the womb) no matter what their strengths or disabilities are. And who’s to say that their disabilities won’t turn out to be their greatest strengths?

What an profoundly true statement.  As an example, he mentioned a man named Nick Vujicic, a man who doesn’t have arms or legs.  Then the next day I noticed a friend on facebook linked to a video that showed Mr. Vujicic talking with Oprah, so I clicked on it and watched it and was deeply touched and inspired.  If you haven’t watched the video yet, I encourage you to watch it below.

Remember, we are all fearfully and wonderfully made!  ♥

Psalm 139:14 (NIV)

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.

Psalm 139:13-16 (MSG)

13-16 Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out;
you formed me in my mother’s womb.
I thank you, High God—you’re breathtaking!
Body and soul, I am marvelously made!
I worship in adoration—what a creation!
You know me inside and out,
you know every bone in my body;
You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit,
how I was sculpted from nothing into something.
Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth;
all the stages of my life were spread out before you,
The days of my life all prepared
before I’d even lived one day.

About flowermama

I'm a SAHM & have been married for 25 years. DH and I have 4 kiddos, age 20 down to age 12, and we are unschooling-ish, AP parents who strive to use Grace-Based Discipline. I have been vegan for 15 years for ethical, ecological, & health reasons.
This entry was posted in Me, Misc. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

