Some Thoughts about Spanking

Before I had children I assumed, naturally, that I was going to spank, because all Christians spank, don’t they?  It’s the biblical thing to spank, right?  I grew up in a conservative Christian culture that said the Bible teaches that the Christian thing to do is for parents to spank their children to “discipline” them, and it was a given for me that I would follow along with what I had been taught.

After I had my first baby (over 16 years ago), I was shocked at how much she cried.  She cried if I set her down, she cried if I tried to make her wait to nurse, she cried when I tried to get her to sleep. . .   Why did she need to nurse so much?  Why wouldn’t she let me put her down? Why wouldn’t she sleep at night?  I felt bewildered. It was so much more work than I expected!

I realized as time went by that she was much happier if I parented her responsively.  And that makes sense.  We all appreciate it when others respond to us and acknowledge our feelings and needs.   Haven’t most of us experienced ourselves that being ignored hurts and creates distrust?  It’s the same for babies.   And the opposite is true, too — responsively meeting their needs helps build trust.

I decided I wanted to build connection and trust with my baby, and so I began to make a conscious choice to parent her in ways that would build her trust and build the connection between me and my daughter.

And then consider the idea of spanking — is it something that helps build connection and trust?  I was responsively meeting my little one’s needs to the best of my ability, not perfectly by any means!, but I was trying so hard.  And the idea of taking my hand and striking her with it on purpose to give her pain so that she could learn what I wanted her to learn didn’t fit at all with those goals.  Hitting doesn’t nurture trust and connection, it breaks it down.

I began searching the Bible to see if it really taught that parents should spank their children, and I met other Christian parents online asking the same question.  We did a word study, and I wish I still had my study! but I remember coming to an indefinite conclusion at that time, but I felt very hopeful. I did not clearly see the Bible telling parents to spank, and I felt God leading me not to spank my child.

There was a man in the online group I was part of who felt that he had found some really good things in the Bible about this topic, and he was going to write a book about it.  I think his name was Clay. . . and many years later I was excited when I realized that the man named “Clay” in the group was likely the same Clay Clarkson who wrote the wonderful book Heartfelt Discipline.  The book is out of print, but the last I heard was that a new version should come out by August/September.  It’s the first day of October, so hopefully it’ll be soon.  I’m really looking forward to it. 

I’ve become very sure since that study long ago that the Bible clearly does not command parents to spank.  People hold very strong culturally-derived views on spanking, but the Bible is really silent on the issue.  Christian parents who believe we are to spank often get that idea from verses in Proverbs, but when interpreting the verses in Proverbs it’s important to remember that they are neither commands or promises, and the context of each verse should to be taken into consideration. Plus Proverbs is poetic and often uses hyperbole to make a point.  Furthermore, there are leaps in logic that need to be made in order to come to the conclusion that the verses in Proverbs are even talking about spanking children.

My husband believed in spanking at first, but early in our parenting journey God spoke to his heart as well on this issue.  We have four children now, and our oldest is 16.  There are all sorts of scary things that people say happen if you don’t spank your children, and we just haven’t found them to be true.  Our children are normal, imperfect, learning, growing, wonderful, unique human beings made in God’s image. They are learning to think for themselves, learning how to set healthy boundaries, and learning how to respect others.

If you are a Christian parent and you feel sad thinking about spanking your children or are feeling a pull from the Lord not to spank, though in Christian circles the pressure to spank can be huge, I’d encourage you to to look into it for yourself.  There are honestly many Christians, good and loving and God-honoring, Bible loving, Christians who desire to honor and glorify God, who do not spank.  Pray and read the Bible anew on this issue, trying to lay aside your pre-conceived notions.  I’ve found word studies can provide a helpful starting point.  For an example, here is a link to one mama’s word study:  The Rod or Shebet: An Indepth Examination.

I and my husband are so grateful that God doesn’t treat us the way that many Christian parenting “experts” say is the “biblical” way to raise children!  We are blessed to be recipients of His mercy and grace, and want to extend that to our children as well.

About flowermama

I'm a SAHM & have been married for 25 years. DH and I have 4 kiddos, age 20 down to age 12, and we are unschooling-ish, AP parents who strive to use Grace-Based Discipline. I have been vegan for 15 years for ethical, ecological, & health reasons.
This entry was posted in Discipline, Some Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Some Thoughts about Spanking

  1. Cheryl Rose says:

    Good post. I have six kids, and I have spanked each of them at one time or another, but not with forethought, or philosophizing about right and wrong. It just happened. My kids don’t seem to be any worse for it, but they also aren’t any better for it. In the end, for me, it comes down to this: spanking is a really lame form of discipline. I have seen no longterm benefits to it. It’s a means of putting a stop to an incident of bad behavior, but it does nothing to deal with the reason for the bad behavior.

    I am Catholic and probably read the Bible differently, but there’s a reason the Bible is divided into Old Testament and New Testament. Even though both are dealing with the same God, it seems almost as if the Old Testament God is not the same entity as the New Testament God. The Old Testament focuses heavily (almost exclusively) on laws and punishments and wrath; while the New Testament is about love, mercy and forgiveness. Jesus did not come to abolish the Old Law, but He did come to save us and teach us more about God, His Father. It seems to me that lessons emphasized in the New Testament (that love, mercy and forgiveness) should supersede the lessons emphasized in the Old Testament, especially if one contradicts the other (such as “An eye for an eye” vs. “Present the other cheek also”).

    One more thing: I once read (I’m not exactly sure where) that shepherds used rods to guide their sheep, not beat them. In fact, beating sheep would not bring about any desired results. Therefore, the verse in Proverbs about “Whoever spares the rod hates his son,” was more likely about parents who fail to guide their children, not parents who fail to spank.

  2. katesurfs says:

    I’ve never heard of this… the whole Christians and spanking! I think maybe when people get overwhelmed, it can certainly happen. I know I had a few handprints on my bottom when I was a kid… But, in my opinion, I don’t think God would want us to be violent towards anyone… especially our children.

    • flowermama says:

      Thank you, Kate! I agree so much that God doesn’t want us to be violent towards our children. When I look at what love is in I Corinthians 13 and read what about the fruit of the Spirit in Galatians 5, to me the idea that God wants us to hit our children really doesn’t mesh with those things.

  3. Brian L. Spivey says:

    We should always beware when we adopt philosophies that mirror those who HATE and REJECT the Savior and what is clearly practiced in the time of Jesus.

    • flowermama says:

      Thank you for commenting. I apologize, but I’m not sure what you mean by your comment. Are you saying I have adopted philosophies that mirror those who hate and reject the Savior or are you agreeing with what I wrote, or do you mean something else? I believe that we should not be conformed to this world, and I believe that we should do what God wants us to do and that the Bible, His Word, is the final authority on what a Christian is called to believe. I don’t believe that God teaches parents to spank in the Bible. I believe He teaches us to discipline and guide and protect our children, adamantly yes, but not to spank them.

Leave a Reply

