Dancing

I’ve got a confession to make. . . sometimes in the middle of the night I listen to 80s music on Rhapsody.com.  Right now I’m listening to Footloose by Kenny Loggins. It’s one of my favorite songs, and I like the movie it’s from, too (the 1984 version).  You know why it especially appealed to me when I was younger?  The freedom it represents.  I grew up during the 80s and went to a conservative Christian school that said that dancing is bad.  I mean, pretend you are looking at a room of people dancing and there is a glass wall and you can’t hear the music.  How does it look? What does it look like they are doing?!  That’s something we were told as an example to show why dancing is bad.   Ha!

You’re playing so cool
Obeying every rule
Dig way down in your heart
You’re burning, yearning for some
Somebody to tell you
That life ain’t a passing you by
I’m trying to tell you
It will if you don’t even try
You can fly if you’d only cut

(Chorus)
Loose, footloose
Kick off your Sunday shoes. . .

Thinking about that movie brings to mind another movie I used to really enjoy called Dirty Dancing.  The first time I saw it I was probably about 17, and a friend and I went to see it together at a movie theater.  Then when I was in college, a conservative Christian college I might add, I got together with some friends, and we had a fun time watching that movie at someone’s house.  We were so daring, right?!    I like the end scene where they dance to the song I’ve Had the Time of my Life.  As I was looking it up on youtube tonight, I started thinking about how sad it is that Patrick Swayze, the lead male actor in that movie, died.  He seemed like a really neat person.

I still don’t know how to really dance, but maybe some day I can take lessons.  I should put that on my list of things to do before I die! The only times I have ever really let lose and danced with abandon have been when I’ve been by myself, which is rare.  😉 No one else knows this, but my favorite song to dance to is from the movie Flashdance, which, by the way, I have not seen and don’t care to see, called What a Feeling.  Dancing, to me, a very shy person who was taught that dancing is bad, idealistically represents freedom and joy!

About flowermama

I'm a SAHM & have been married for 25 years. DH and I have 4 kiddos, age 20 down to age 12, and we are unschooling-ish, AP parents who strive to use Grace-Based Discipline. I have been vegan for 15 years for ethical, ecological, & health reasons.
This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

