Love, not Tolerate

My husband wrote this the other day, and I thought it was so nice that I’m going to share it here.

Our society places much emphasis on tolerance. Often people use the term ‘to tolerate’ something as just barely being able to stand it. Jesus did not command his followers ‘to tolerate’ their neighbors but rather to love their neighbors.

It is usually fairly easy to tolerate something or someone, it is very difficult if not impossible (on our own) to love some people. Even though I constantly fail, I will strive to love people and reserve tolerance for things like a leaky faucet or windshield wipers that don’t work.

About flowermama

I'm a SAHM & have been married for 25 years. DH and I have 4 kiddos, age 20 down to age 12, and we are unschooling-ish, AP parents who strive to use Grace-Based Discipline. I have been vegan for 15 years for ethical, ecological, & health reasons.
This entry was posted in Misc.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

