I’m an INFP

Years ago, oh, about 21 or so years ago, I took a Myers-Briggs Type Indicator test at college to find out which careers might be a good fit for me.  It was standard for all students at the college I attended (a conservative Christian college then known as Western Baptist College) to take the test.  The results of the test said that I was an “INFP.”  I don’t remember a whole lot about which careers it said might be good for me, but I think librarian was one of them, and that does seem to fit.   Though I never became a librarian, as part of a legal secretary course I took at a voc-tech school, I helped out at a law library for awhile, and I enjoyed that a lot.  (I never did finish that legal secretary course, by the way, but that’s a different story!)

Does it mean very much to me thinking that I’m an INFP?  Not a whole lot, really, but it’s interesting.  If you read the descriptions of an INFP, they fit me pretty well, and it’s nice to feel understood and to know that there are others who can relate and who have similarities to me in the way I think and perceive life.  This page gives INFP’s the title of “the idealist,” and I remember my dad calling me an idealist when I was younger, so that fits.  Another page calls INFP’s “The ‘Dreamer,'” and that fits, too.

I enjoy reading lists of famous people who are also INFPs.  Some of my favorites are Mr. Rogers–he was such a wonderfully loving, gentle person; J. R. R. Tolkien–I love The Lord of RingsLaura Ingalls Wilder–the Little House books are among my favorites; A. A. Milne–Winnie the Pooh is such a dear bear; and William Shakespeare–of course he is incredible!  Some fictional INFPs are Anne of Anne of Green Gables, Bastian Balthazar Bux of The Neverending Story, Calvin of Calvin and Hobbes, and Deanna Troi of Star Trek: The Next Generation, all wonderful characters!  I feel really good about being associated with them even in some small way.  🙂

And now, that’s all I’m going to write tonight/this early morning.  This INFP needs to get some sleep! Good-night and sweet dreams!

About flowermama

I'm a SAHM & have been married for 25 years. DH and I have 4 kiddos, age 20 down to age 12, and we are unschooling-ish, AP parents who strive to use Grace-Based Discipline. I have been vegan for 15 years for ethical, ecological, & health reasons.
This entry was posted in Me and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

